Newman Regional Health notified individuals affected by a security incident affecting Newman Regional Health’s e-mail system. Additional information is available online or by calling 833-749-1989. MCG Health, a vendor of Newman Regional Health, is notifying individuals affected by a security incident impacting MCG’s information systems. Additional information regarding the MCG incident is available online or by calling 866-475-7221.

Center for Quality Maternity Care

April 23, 2021

Newman Regional Health recognized for delivering Quality Maternity Care by Blue Distinction®

Hospitals earn designation through the Blue Distinction® Specialty Care program

(Emporia, KS) — Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Kansas has designated 18 of its contracting hospitals as Blue Distinction® Centers for Maternity Care as part of the national Blue Distinction Specialty Care program that recognizes hospitals for providing quality and affordable care.

Blue Distinction Centers are nationally designated hospitals that show expertise in delivering improved patient safety and better health outcomes, based on objective measures that were developed with input from the medical community. The Blue Distinction Centers for Maternity Care program evaluates hospitals on quality measures for vaginal and cesarean delivery.
To receive a Blue Distinction Centers+ designation, a hospital must meet the same quality criteria as Blue Distinction Centers while also meeting requirements for cost efficiency.

Hospitals recognized as a Blue Distinction Center+ for Maternity Care are:

  • Advent Health, Ottawa
  • Ascension Via Christi, Wichita
  • Atchison Hospital
  • Hays Medical Center
  • Hutchinson Regional Medical Center
  • Labette County Medical Center
  • Lawrence Memorial Hospital
  • Newman Regional Health, Emporia
  • Newton Medical Center
  • Salina Regional Health Center
  • Saint Luke’s Cushing Memorial Hospital, Leavenworth
  • St. Catherine Hospital, Garden City
  • Southwest Medical Center, Liberal
  • Stormont Vail Health, Topeka
  • Susan B. Allen Memorial Hospital, El Dorado
  • Wesley Medical Center, Wichita
  • Western Plains Medical Complex, Dodge City
  • The University of Kansas Health Systems, St. Francis Campus, Topeka

“We are committed to giving our members access to the best in healthcare. We are excited that so many Kansas hospitals are doing such truly great work,” said Matt All, president/CEO, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Kansas. “Each facility recognized as a Blue Distinction Center is meeting rigorous quality metrics in all phases of their maternity care programs and, in doing so, delivering better care for our members and all Kansans.”

Since 2006, the Blue Distinction Specialty Care program has helped patients find quality specialty care in the areas of bariatric surgery, cancer care, cardiac care, maternity care, knee and hip replacements, spine surgery and transplants, while encouraging healthcare professionals to improve the care they deliver. Research shows that, compared to other
hospitals, those designated as Blue Distinction Centers demonstrate better quality and improved outcomes for patients. On average, Blue Distinction Centers+ also are 20 percent more cost-efficient than non-Blue Distinction Center+ designated hospitals.
For more information about the program, please visit

About Newman Regional Health:
Newman Regional Health is a not-for-profit 25-bed Critical Access Hospital owned by the citizens of Lyon County, Kansas. Recognized as a Level 4 Trauma Center, Newman Regional Health provides inpatient acute and medical rehabilitation services along with a full range of emergency and outpatient care to patients of all ages in Lyon County and surrounding areas in East Central Kansas. Newman Regional Health offers 24/7 care with a newly renovated, state-of-the-art 19-bed emergency room and 10-bed Clinical Decision Unit. With a mission to improve health in the community by providing high quality care and a vision to be a valued, trusted partner and regional provider of exemplary services, Newman Regional Health receives recognition as a top Critical Access Hospital each year.
About Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Kansas
For more than 75 years, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Kansas has built a reputation of trust with its members and contracting providers by providing outstanding customer service while quickly and accurately processing claims; fairly administering benefit plans and contracts; offering programs, services and tools to help members improve or maintain their health; and operating under the highest ethical standards while being good stewards of premium dollars. Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Kansas is an independent licensee of the Blue Cross Blue Shield Association and is the state’s largest insurer, serving all Kansas counties except Johnson and Wyandotte. For more information, visit

Connect With Us

Newman Regional Health
1201 W 12th Avenue
Emporia, KS 66801
Newman Medical Plaza
1301 W 12th Avenue
Emporia, KS 66801
English EN Spanish ES